One Planet – and Two Faces

The book of time is being ruled by the gods of time: the planets. Thus every human has all nine planetary deities stand by his side, and according to his ascendant some are helpful company and some are very challenging. The latter ones are also called “malefactors.” Each planet can present itself as a beneficial protector or as a big challenger. This solely depends on our bodyguard, our ascendant shield. Knowing our ascendant, we see which planet shows its supportive side and which its challenging side.

The planets are the gods of our karma; their bright or shady side will decisively define our fate. There are planets that are by nature always difficult and challenging. The traditional Vedic astrology therefore generally calls them malefactors. Rahu and Ketu belong to this group. There are also those planets that are by nature good or benefectors. Since the cosmos does not know the terms “good” or “bad,” their judgment always depends on our view of them. A so-called malefactor might create obstacles on the mundane level, but it also can give us the necessary impulses for spiritual progress – and thus have a positive effect on a deeper level. Regardless of that, we will often experience such negative coincidences of cosmic energies as losses, diseases, conflicts and so on. Moreover, the planets are messengers of traumatic experiences in our life.

In Vedic astrology, every planet can be a “benefactor” or a “malefactor,” depending on the particular ascendant. A planet within this system thus not basically, i.e. essentially, is positive or negative, but is always depending on your personal connection with the ascendant that depicts your relationship with the cosmos and its representatives, the planets.

The Ascendants with their Functionally Negative and Positive Planets

functionally positive planets

  • Aries Sun, Moon, Mars, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn
  • Taurus Sun, Moon, Mercury, Saturn
  • Gemini Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn
  • Cancer Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Venus
  • Leo Sun, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn
  • Virgo Moon, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus
  • Libra Sun, Moon, Mars, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn
  • Scorpio Sun, Moon, Mercury, Jupiter, Saturn
  • Sagittarius Sun, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn
  • Capricorn Moon, Mars, Mercury, Venus, Saturn
  • Aquarius Sun, Mars, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn
  • Pisces Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter

functionally negative planets

  • Aries Mercury, Rahu, Ketu
  • Taurus Venus, Jupiter, Mars, Rahu, Ketu
  • Gemini Rahu, Ketu
  • Cancer Saturn, Jupiter, Rahu, Ketu
  • Leo Moon, Rahu, Ketu
  • Virgo Saturn, Mars, Sun, Rahu, Ketu
  • Libra Mercury, Rahu, Ketu
  • Scorpio Mars, Venus, Rahu, Ketu
  • Sagittarius Moon, Rahu, Ketu
  • Capricorn Sun, Jupiter, Rahu, Ketu
  • Aquarius Moon, Mercury, Rahu, Ketu
  • Pisces Sun, Venus, Saturn, Rahu, Ketu